All the way my Savior leads me

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Jellyfish and Water July 26, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — howbeautifularethefeet @ 5:51 pm

It has been a while since I have posted (TOO LONG according to my momma!).  We have been staying very busy during the day and when we get home at night we hang out for a few minutes and head to bed.  I just want you all to know I am so thankful for all the prayers and for your interest in what God is doing in Honduras!  Your comments are always so encouraging to me and come at the perfect time, so please don’t think I take them for granted!  🙂  I cannot believe that we have less than 2 weeks left here.  It seems like we just arrived!

Since my last post so much has happened!  We are continuing to work at the bilingual school and with our students in our English class. We have been so blessed to work with these children and I love hearing “Hola Carolina!” from tons of kids each day!  (Keri is very difficult for native Spanish speakers, so I’ve been Carolina the entire time I’ve been here-just like in Peru!)  We have really been working on multiplication at the bilingual school and yesterday I gave them a test…haven’t graded them yet, but I’m feeling hopeful!  We have also been doing lots of singing.  The Hokey Pokey is their new favorite!  With our other kids at the English class we spend each day teaching a Bible Story along with English vocabulary/grammar.  My group taught about Lazarus this week and this afternoon Robert will be sharing about the death of Jesus.  Please continue to pray for this class.  We have one more week with these children and I really believe that we have developed some great relationships.  Pray that the Pirkles (missionaries who live here) will be able to continue to build upon these relationships once we are back in the states so that each one of these children will come to experience the love of Christ and know His grace.

One of our favorite weekend activities has been taking kids from the children’s center down to the beach to play in the ocean!  They absolutely love it and so do we!  We took a group of 15 kids with us and walked down to the ocean (through the crab and palm forests).  These children are living in the children’s center for different reasons.  Some of them are orphans, some are living there so they can attend school, and others live there while their parents are trying to work to provide for them.  They are such a blessing to us and we always love hearing their laughs as the guys throw them in the air and they fall into the water.  They found tons of sand dollars for us and LOVED ripping them in half to pull out the star that was inside of them to give to us.  They killed so many of them-I started to feel bad.  (I have a really awesome star though!)  🙂  Our day was pretty much perfect until the jellyfish decided to make an appearance.  And since we didn’t know what jellyfish were in Spanish we told the kids there was an octopus and they ran yelling from the water.  We then figured out the word for jellyfish and the kids were not really concerned about them at all and went right back in the water.  I was still concerned and was not going back in…but the kids were determined to make me return to the water.  The fastest way to do that: throwing sand all over me.  So I got back in and was fine, only 2 of the guys got stung-but they said it wasn’t that bad.  Even with the jellyfish, it was a terrific day.

image

(The crab forest-filled with TONS of crabs!)

When we got back to the house from swimming we sat down for a few minutes and a man came by to tell us that we had no water.  We were sandy and gross.  He came back and told us it looked like rain was coming so we should gather anything we had to catch water to use because they didn’t know when the water would come back.  We put every pot, pan and bowl that we could find outside the house where the rain pours off the roof and thankfully the rain came.  Lauren and I volunteered to go out and move the pots around so we could get lots of water-plus we got to take a rain shower to get some of the the grossness off of us!  It was an excellent shower and we were so thankful for it!  The water was off for 2 days so we had to use that to flush our toilets and rinse off our feet, but they found the problem and got it fixed quickly! (Daddy, it made me think of what we had to do at home when we had to fill the bathtubs when you thought the power was going to go off-and I had to explain to some teammates about how to flush the toilet with the water.  You should be proud!)

image

We are continuously praising God for what he is doing in Honduras and every member of my team is so excited to be a part of it.  It is such a blessing to interact with children.  Please continue to remember us in your prayers!

image

(God is so good. Lex took this awesome picture of the hospital at sunset-so beautiful.)

 

10 Responses to “Jellyfish and Water”

  1. Momma Says:

    Hey Keri,
    It’s great to hear from you!! I love your nickname “Carolina”!! So sweet!… I can’t wait to see you! Take Care…
    Enjoy your time there!! Miss you! Love You BUNCHES!! Very proud, Momma

  2. Cindy Says:

    I love reading your blog! I just had a feeling there would be a post today…sounds like a fun day at the beach. Don’t know that I would have walked past the crabs to get there though. Funny how we take the “small stuff” for granted…like running water and flushing toilets. Glad they got that fixed. Take care and keep the pics and stories coming! Love you bunches!
    Your favorite aunt!
    Cindy

  3. Chandler Smith Says:

    You have a sweet momma who is sooo proud of you! It sounds like you are having a great trip. We are all praying for you and thinking about you! Be safe!!

  4. Daddy Says:

    Hey missy (can they say that in Spanish) Finally decided to give up on home computer and use this fancy phone. Good to hear y’all r doin well. Time may b flyin by for u but it seems like I took u to the airport last year! U gonna b super busy movin all that school stuff when u get back I just hope that portable is a double wide !! Still hot and muggy here but it’s July guess that’s normal. Oh yeah before I go those kids could always use a hairy gigantic super spider to get u to take a swim with a great white shark (if they only knew) love ya.

  5. Claudia Says:

    Always enjoy reading your blog. Keep up the good work and we are proud of all the footprints
    you are leaving in the sand. God bless you as you continue to serve Him this summer.

  6. Pat Huggins Says:

    You are such a wonderful young lady, Keri! I have certainly enjoyed reading about your experiences In Honduras. I know you are making a difference in these young lives! I will continue to pray for you all and look forward to hearing from you again! I love you!

    • Daddy Says:

      A country girl can survive !! ( I heard that n a song ) u never realize those little lessons were being understood until sometime later when u hear “daddy u remember when u ….” Ur a good kid and we re glad u paid attention !

  7. Jennifer Says:

    You’re starting to sound like Dora!!! Haha. Gotta go through the crabs and past the forest to get to the ocean!! 🙂 lol. I’m so glad you’re having a good time! You’re an amazing person and I thank God for you everyday! You’re such an inspiration and I know all the kids will miss you very much… But on the other hand, so do weeee!!! Can’t wait to see you dear. 😬❤

  8. Annette Auld Says:

    Thank you for the update. Sounds wonderful.
    You mentioned The Pirkles. My OB-GYN in Seneca was leaving for the mission field with his family just a month after he performed my surgery. I am guessing this is the same guy. I am so excited about what you all are doing with your lives. To God be the glory.

  9. Kim Says:

    Hey Partner!
    So glad ur safe and happy!
    Enjoy this last week!
    See you soon!


Leave a Reply

