All the way my Savior leads me

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Iquitos July 10, 2009

Filed under: Life in Peru — howbeautifularethefeet @ 7:43 pm

Hi everyone! I just wanted to let you know that we made it back to Iquitos from the villages that we went to in the jungle.  We got here this morning and we are flying back to Lima tonight.  I had the chance to use the internet for just a few minutes…so I wanted to let everyone know that I´m okay.  Still sick..but better.  I gave my medicine away because a little kid in the village needed it…I think it´s so awesome that I was able to help her!  God truly has a reason for everything!  I will get more medicine when I get back to Lima ( I promise I really am fine, Momma).    I also found out that mosquitos here love South Carolina blood!  I have a ton of bites and I used my 100% Deet bug spray.  It´s crazy…but they´ll be gone soon!  I will write more tomorrow when we get back to Lima!  Please say a prayer for safe travel tonight!  Thanks for everything!

PS-I didn´t eat anything really weird in the jungle…some people ate fried alligator…but I decided to pass on that!  I will write all the details about the jungle tomorrow!

 

8 Responses to “Iquitos”

  1. keri doodle,
    just wanted to let you know i’m thinking about you and your adventures! remember next friday is community club and there will be a lot of good food! hope you have a good trip home and feel better when you leave the high altitudes. stay safe and be good.
    love your favorite fabulous fifty year old cousin from madison who better get back to work now before jerry fires me

  2. Shirley Says:

    Hey Keri….just thought I’d send you a note and let you know that I was thinking about you! Hope you are doing well! It is still hot here but has cooled somewhat the last several days. I know your Mom, Dad and Jennifer will be so excited to get you back home! As I read Randy’s message to you….I thought it was Tom!! He NEVER uses punctuation and that message looked just like email he sends me!!! I think it’s a “man thang”! It dang-near took me 30 minutes to read it, so I know it took Randy longer to type it!! (you know I’m just kidding!) But it was funny….I don’t care who you are! Take care of yourself and know that we have and will keep you in our prayers until you return safe and sound back to Madison!! Love you!

  3. Suzanne Dobson Says:

    You passed on fried alligator?!?!? Are you crazy? You must really not be feeling well. I like alligator myself. 🙂 See ya!

  4. Momma Says:

    Hey My Beautiful Baby Girl,
    It’s was great to hear from you today!! It’s always great to hear your voice…because you’re always glad to hear mine!!
    We have been praying for you….but Jennifer and I might need your prayers more today…your daddy is painting!! (and he is not to happy)!!!… but we are down to one more wall and we will be finished… it’s your favorite color…PINK!!
    Well… now we only have 3 1/2 days left and then we get to see your beautiful face!!! We can’t wait!…
    I’m glad you’re back safe to Lima…and I hope you enjoy the rest of your time there!
    I guess I better go check on the paint job!! We will see you Wednesday!!!
    I LOVE YOU !!!! Your missing you very much!!! Momma

  5. Kay Says:

    Hey girl. I have been trying to get on here to leave you a message but I am not doing something correct. I have checked everytime but I am never on here. Sorry, maybe this one will get to you but you will probably be home to read this. I am so proud of you. I can not believe that you have done the things that you have done. You have gotten out of the shell and doin God’s work. You are doin a great thing. I hope that you have touched so many lifes and you don’t even know it. I hope you was able to take lots of pictures. That is my favorite thing to do, they say so much about what you are doin. Hope you are feelin better. I can’t believe that you passed up alligator after everything else you have ate while there. Take care and I can’t wait to hear all about the trip.

  6. daddy Says:

    Hey Missy !
    Time is running out. Thank goodness! I know it’s got to feel good to get back to “civilization”. All’s well at home except for the painting thing!! Looks like it’s gonna take TWO coats!!!!!!!! We’re going to have to get another gallon of paint.One would have done it but I didn’t know they were going to paint the floor too! Well I’m going to get ready for church so I’ll cut it short.Yeah right, this typing thing is never gonna be quick for me.
    Be safe and enjoy these last few days because you’re really fixin’ to get back to CIVILIZATION!! Hurry on home, we don’t want you to miss out on all the fun around here!

    Your “painting loving” daddy

    P.S. This is ridiculous -capitalization, punctuation…..Who needs it anyway?

  7. Aunt Peggy Says:

    Hey Keri – As my final entry I thought I’d write you a little poem. Hope you enjoy!

    Tommorow you’ll be in our beautiful state. Friends and family can hardly wait! You’ve been on a journey to the mountains of Peru. You’ve tasted guinea pig and perhaps saw an emu. You’ve told Bible stories, taught English, and cooked grill cheese. You’ve bundled up warmly so you wouldn’t freeze. You’ve worn a head lamp to show you the way. You’ve hugged the children and helped them to play. You’ve been stinky and smelly and not seen a tub. You’ve had aching feet that you had to rub. You’ve been down a river and paddled a boat. You’ve learned that Dad’s right when he says take a coat. You’ve used a squatty potty and slept in a tent. You’ve shown strength and courage everywhere you went. You’ve kept us updated and shared all your news. You’ve learned a hiker needs comfortable shoes. You’ve made friendships that will last a long, long time. You’ve been bitten by mosquitoes and covered in grime. But most important of all the things you have done, is to share God’s word and the souls that were won.

    I love you dearly and am so proud of you. Welcome home!!!!!! Your Beautiful Aunt Peggy

  8. Aunt Peggy Says:

    oops just noticed a few words spelled incorrectly in my poem ill just blame that on my typing skills (its really easy to type with no caps or punctuation) i probably could have made an a if i could have done it this way
    just think – – – this time tomorrow youll be in your own bed have access to a toilet and shower be able to eat whatever you want and can even watch tv
    see you soon safe travels
    your beautiful aunt peggy


Leave a Reply

